Ministry of Environment of the Slovak Republic


In accordance with EU primary law, the objectives of EU environmental policy are as follows:

To achieve these goals, the area of environment falls within the shared competence of the EU and its Member States, meaning that both the European Commission and Member States are entitled to adopt binding acts pertaining to environmental policy. However, Member States are authorised to do so only if the Union decides not to exercise its competence. Therefore, Member countries are still competent to legislate but national law cannot contradict European law. Based on the principle of subsidiary, the Commission is competent to intervene and legislate only if an agreed objective is attainable more effectively at EU level that at the level of Member States. As a result, since 2004 when Slovakia joined the EU, the majority of its environmental laws have originated from the transposition of EU legislation into our national legal system.

The EU environmental and climate change policies are primarily shaped by four out of seven principal EU institutions:

  1. Working parties – environmental and climate change issues are covered by two working parties: the Working Party on the Environment (focused on various aspects of the EU environmental policy) and the Working Party on International Environment Issues (preparing EU positions for international environmental negotiations). At this level, Slovakia, as well as other Member States, is represented either by experts from the Permanent Representation to the EU or from the Ministry of Environment depending on the issue discussed.
  2. The Permanent Representatives Committee (COREPER) – environmental policy falls under the responsibility of COREPER I gathering deputy permanent representatives. Slovakia is here represented by A. Micovčin, the Slovak Deputy Permanent Representative to the EU.
  3. The highest ministerial level – it decides on matters in cases where agreement is not reached at lower levels.


Last update 15/10/2018